arthur_rubinstein_lovelife

“People are always setting conditions for happiness… I love life without condition.”

“I was born very, very lazy and I don’t always practice very long. but I must say, in my defense, that it is not so good, in a musical way, to over practice. When you do, the music seems to come out of your pocket. If you play with a feeling of ‘Oh, I know this,’ you play without that little drop of fresh blood that is necessary – and the audience feels it.”

“At breakfast, I might pass a Brahms symphony in my head. Then I am called to the phone, and half an hour later I find it’s been going on all the time and I’m in the third movement.”

“To be alive, to be able to see, to walk, to have houses, music, paintings – it’s all a miracle. I have adopted the technique of living life miracle to miracle.”

arthur_rubinstein2_best

Arthur Rubinstein at 50

rubinstein7

Arthur Rubinstein with Robert Redford and the late Sydney Pollack

One thought on “Arthur Rubinstein (Jan 28, 1887 – Dec 20, 1982)

Leave a Reply

