“I wear the black for the poor and the beaten down,
 Livin' in the hopeless, hungry side of town,
 I wear it for the prisoner who has long paid for his crime,
 But is there because he's a victim of the times.
 I wear the black for those who never read”

“I wore black because I liked it. I still do, and wearing it still means something to me. It's still my symbol of rebellion -- against a stagnant status quo, against our hypocritical houses of God, against people whose minds are closed to others' ideas.”

“You build on failure. You use it as a stepping stone. Close the door on the past. You don't try to forget the mistakes, but you don't dwell on it. You don't let it have any of your energy, or any of your time, or any of your space.”

“There's a lot of things blamed on me that never happened. But then, there's a lot of things that I did that I never got caught at.”

“it's good to know who hates you and it is good to be hated by the right people.”

“I keep a close watch on this heart of mine
 I keep my eyes wide open all the time
 I keep the ends out for the tie that binds
 Because you're mine, I walk the line.”

johnny_older

johnny_cash stamp_for blog_fbpix

Johnny Cash and Bob Dylan

johnnyandbob2Nashville Skyline era

johnny_sanquentin

Leave a Reply

