Hugh Masekela & Miriam Makeba Marry in 1964
Photo: Jurgen Schadenburg

Everybody now admits that apartheid was wrong, and all I did was tell the people who wanted to know where I come from how we lived in South Africa. I just told the world the truth. And if my truth then becomes political, I can’t do anything about that.

It’s a really unfair world because life is, where I am; all day long we listen to American music. So I don’t see why the radios in the U.S. cannot even put aside one hour a day just to play music that is not American.

There are a lot of homes for boys, but very few for girls, that is why I chose to do for girls.

And why is our music called world music? I think people are being polite. What they want to say is that it’s third world music. Like they use to call us under developed countries, now it has changed to developing countries, it’s much more polite.

Miriam Makeba and Paul Simon – Graceland Tour

1956

Leave a Reply

