(April 1, 1949– May 27, 2011)
http://gilscottheron.net/

If someone comes to you and asks for help, and you can help them, you’re supposed to help them. Why wouldn’t you? You have been put in the position somehow to be able to help this person.

The revolution that takes place in your head, nobody will ever see that.

Music has the power to make me feel good like nothing else does. It gives me some peace for a while. Takes me back to who I really am.

The way you get to know yourself is by the expressions on other people’s faces, because that’s the only thing that you can see, unless you carry a mirror about.

I tour more than I need to, more than is good for you. But it’s my favorite part of music. I much prefer it to studio work.

I learnt early on that your audience take the songs in the way they want to rather than the way you might want them too.

Everything that’s bad for you catches on too quickly in America, because that’s the easiest thing to get people to invest in, the pursuits that are easy and destructive, the ones that bring out the least positive aspects of people.

Colour is not the issue in America; class is.

Leave a Reply

