Ella and Duke

Ella and Marilyn

Ella and Billie

ella_sarah_jazzreflectionsElla and Sarah Vaughn

ella_jazzreflectionscourtesy of Jazz Reflections

 

Ella Fitzgerald and Oscar Peterson dancing at Club Saint Germain, Paris, 1958; photographed by Herman Leonard.

Ella Fitzgerald and Oscar Peterson dancing at Club Saint Germain, Paris, 1958; photographed by Herman Leonard.
(thank you, Rhonda T.)

 

“A lot of singers think all they have to do is exercise their tonsils to get ahead.They refuse to look for new ideas and new outlets, so they fall by the wayside… I’m going to try to find out the new ideas before the others do.”

“I know I’m no glamour girl, and it’s not easy for me to get up in front of a crowd of people. It used to bother me a lot, but now I’ve got it figured out that God gave me this talent to use, so I just stand there and sing.”

“The only thing better than singing is more singing.”

“I stole everything I ever heard, but mostly I stole from the horns.”

It isn’t where you came from, its where you’re going that counts”.

“Just don’t give up trying to do what you really want to do. Where there is love and inspiration, I don’t think you can go wrong.”

Leave a Reply

