I can see for miles
Pete Townshend, b. May 19, 1945

Pete-Townshend-Keith-Moon-197211972

UK_063.tifPaul Weller and Pete Townshend

pete townshend in studio

It’s a boy, Mrs. Walker, it’s a boy.

Pete Townsend ,The Who, Fillmore West ÒTommyÓ Premiere 7/19/69 sheet 337 frame 51969, Fillmore East

PeteTownshend

pete-townshend-picture_rollingstone
I don’t want to cause a fuss but can I drive your magic bus?

TotalGuitar-Pete_Townshend

 

cantexplain

Animationwho

“Do you realize why is it I’m so driven to operate within the Establishment? It’s vengeance. ‘Hope I die before I get old’ is something I still have to live with, but not for the reason many people think. I have to be very, very vigilant not to become one of those people I despised.”

“Stars are attributed with intelligence they don’t have, beauty they haven’t worked for, loyalty & love they are incapable of reciprocating, and strength they do not possess. They are treated like a beautiful vase of cut flowers. When wilted, simply replaced with new blooms.”

“I don’t think I even approach being a lead player; I think I’m very much part of a band and a riff-maker. I enjoy backing people up and letting people ride on top…I’m musically happiest when I feel I’m driving everyone else to do good things, when I’m not being the pin man.”

“I was regarded by my parents as having little musical talent other than a thin, nasal soprano voice. I was forbidden to touch my father’s clarinets or saxophones, just my harmonica.”

“The day you open your mind to music, you’re halfway to opening your mind to life.”

“Enjoy life. And be careful what you pray for – remember, you will get it all.”

“Rock ‘n’ Roll might not solve your problems, but it does let you dance all over them.”

One thought on “Wishing Pete Townshend a sensational birthday

Leave a Reply

