“A musician’s or artist’s responsibility is a simple one, and that is, through your music to tell the truth.”
“Music and the arts feed our souls, but a decent wage puts food on the table.Musicians, fans of music, and grassroots political organizations are a potent force to fight for social justice.”
Tom Morello, born May 30, 1964
“A good song should make you wanna tap your foot and get with your girl. A great song should destroy cops and set fire to the suburbs. I’m only interested in writing great songs.”

Tom Morello in Alternative Press

 

“When I graduated from Harvard and moved to Hollywood, I was unemployable. I was literally starving, so I had to work menial labour and, at one point, I even worked as an exotic dancer. ‘Brick House’ (by The Commodores) was my jam! I did bachelorette parties and I’d go down to my boxer shorts. Would I go further? All I can say is thank God it was in the time before YouTube! You could make decent money doing that job – people do what they have to do.[7] “From 1987 to 1988, Morello worked in the office of California Democratic Senator Alan Cranston;[7] however, this proved to be a negative experience for Morello, who decided never to pursue a career in politics. “I never had any real desire to work in politics but if there was any ember burning in me, it was extinguished working in that job because of two things: one of them was the fact that 80 per cent of the time I spent with the Senator, he was on the phone asking rich people for money. It just made me understand that the whole business was dirty. He had to compromise his entire being every day. The other was the time a woman phoned up to the office and wanted to complain that there were Mexicans moving into her neighborhood. I said to her, ‘Ma’am, you’re a damn racist,’ and she was indignant. I thought I was representing our cause well, but I got yelled at for a week by everyone for saying that! I thought to myself that if I’m in a job where I can’t call a damn racist a damn racist, then it’s not for me.[7] “excerpted from Wikipedia

http://billmoyers.com/episode/full-show-tom-morello-troubadour-for-justice/

Leave a Reply

