Art is either plagiarism or revolution.

Art = a mad search for individualism.

Color! What a deep and mysterious language, the language of dreams.

I begin to feel an enormous need to become savage and to create a new world.

However depressed I may be I am not in the habit of giving up a project without having tried everything, even the 'impossible', to gain my end.

What still concerns me the most is: am I on the right track, am I making progress, am I making mistakes in art?

All the joys – animal and human – of a free life are mine. I have escaped everything that is artificial, conventional, customary.

Follow the masters! But why should one follow them? The only reason they are masters is that they didn't follow anybody!

In art, all who have done something other than their predecessors have merited the epithet of revolutionary; and it is they alone who are masters.

Self-portrait

Image may contain: 1 person

 Portrait of Paul Gauguin (1848-1903) (b/w photo) by French School photograph
Private Collection, Roger-Viollet, Paris
out of copyright Copyright (C) Bridgeman Art Library

 

No automatic alt text available.

 

No automatic alt text available.

2 thoughts on “Paul Gauguin (June 7, 1848 – May 8, 1903)

  1. Happy Birthday, Paul Gauguin ❤ He is one of my fav artist ever, I studied his work in Tahiti, he was a lucky man to live in such a paradise. He def captured the richness of lush garden color and the pristine beauty of the Tahitian people.

    Like

Leave a Reply

