“I’m a blues singer and harpist. But no matter what category you stick it in - rock, blues, soul, jazz - it’s still dance and party music. A lot of times people come expecting sad music – I like to change their minds ‘bout the blues. I also want to let them know where I’m coming from, so I mix some older things in that young audiences might not know. I feel like, I got to teach the blues, to carry it on.” - James Cotton

http://www.jamescottonsuperharp.com/Bio.html

Obit in Rolling Stone

One thought on “James Cotton (July 1, 1935 – March 16, 2017)

Leave a Reply

