“I have forced myself to contradict myself in order to avoid conforming to my own taste.”

“In my day artists wanted to be outcasts, pariahs. Now they are all integrated into society.”

“It’s true, of course, humor is very important in my life, as you know. That’s the only reason for living, in fact.”

“The creative act is not formed by the artist alone; the spectator brings the work in contact with the external world by deciphering and interpreting its inner qualifications and thus adds his contribution to the creative act.”

“Art may be bad, good or indifferent, but, whatever adjective is used, we must call it art, and bad art is still art in the same way as a bad emotion is still an emotion.”

“The word ‘art’ interests me very much. If it comes from Sanskrit, as I’ve heard, it signifies ‘making.'”

manray_photoofmaryreynoldsandmarcelduchampMary Reynolds and Marcel Duchamp photo by Man Ray

constantin-brancusi_marcel-duchamp_mary-reynolds_franc1929Brancusi, Duchamp and Mary Reynolds, 1929, France
About Mary Reynolds:

duchamp_2images

duchamp_lifemag

MARCEL-DUCHAMP1942

duchamp_glass

duchamp8

duchamp_wheel

Leave a Reply

