1966

“The best thing you can do is to be a woman and stand before the world and speak your heart.”

“I don’t have to lay on the couch and see a therapist because my therapist is in my paint brushes.”

“I’ve done what I please, told people to bug off and exercised my independence.”

“It’s a spirit that was given me and the relationships and meeting all these great people, Duke Ellington, Louis Armstrong; through Max (Roach) I met a lot of people too.”
Abbey Lincoln, jazz vocalist, songwriter, actress,and civil rights activist

http://www.npr.org/artists/15396508/abbey-lincoln

http://harlemcondolife.com/2013/10/27/sunday-jazz-corner-abbey-lincoln/#.U-Kmn9JDvTo

Leave a Reply

