Related image

“I can’t actually play any instrument properly. I can’t read music. And here’s the New York Times calling me the new George Gershwin. It was so ridiculous, really embarrassing.”
Musician (March 1986)

Image result for elvis costello images“Obviously, when I started out, I had a little bit more curiosity than some, and went seeking out the original artists, or in some cases searching up country music. I followed The Byrds a lot, and then when they did a country styled record it made me curious to know who these people were that they liked.”

‘My sense of history in music is much greater than a lot of people’s. I listen a lot further back in the whole history of music. It’s not just pop music of the last 20, 30, 40, 50 years. I’m listening to stuff from hundreds of years ago as well, because you can learn from everything.”
dig interview (2004)
“Elvis Costello : Interview And Music” by Brian Wise (4 October 2004)

Related image

1979

Related image

Burt Bacharach and Elvis Costello

 

Leave a Reply

