aka The Fifth Beatle

The Beatles did treat me as a member of the group. And that was a great honor, you know?


Billy and The Beatles

I had been inspired by an organ player named Earl Grant, who played organ and piano together. My mom took me to see him. So I went home, put my piano and organ together, too.

ray_billy
The first time I met Ray (Charles), I was going to school around the corner from his house. One day, he was playing the piano. I eased up on the porch to listen to him.
Billy Preston

 

billY_rollingstones

Billy Preston, George Harrison, President Gerald Ford

billy-preston_keyboards

preston_jagger1973Billy and Mick 1973

billyPreston

The Beatles and Billy Preston  first met while The Beatles while touring with Little Richard‘s band in 1962. At the time The Beatles were the opening act, and were yet to find fame beyond their home city.

John Lennon was in favour of making Preston a full member of the band; Paul McCartney disagreed, saying there was little point as the band was close to splitting. Nevertheless, he worked with The Beatles from 22-31 January 1969, playing Fender Rhodes electric piano and Hammond organ.
source:
http://www.beatlesbible.com/people/billy-preston/

Leave a Reply

