Miles Davis (May 26, 1926 – Sept 28, 1991)


We are about to begin

Don’t play what’s there, play what’s not there.

I know what I’ve done for music, but don’t call me a legend. Just call me Miles Davis.

Sometimes you have to play a long time to be able to play like yourself.

1950 Backstage in Los Angeles

I’ll play it and tell you what it is later.

miles_jazzreflectionscourtesy of Jazz Reflections

Image result for miles davis imagesWynton Marsalis & Miles Davis, 1986, in Vancouver

Image result for miles davis images

My ego only needs a good rhythm section.

At a White House reception in honor of Ray Charles in 1987, this was his reply to a society lady seated next to him who had asked what he had done to be invited:
“I’ve changed music four or five times. What have you done of any importance other than be white?”

Do you know who Prince kinda reminds me of, particularly as a piano player? Duke! Yeah, he’s the Duke Ellington of the eighties to my way of thinking.
https://en.wikiquote.org/wiki/Miles_Davis

Leave a Reply

