I was so glad to get out of the cotton patch and stop pickin’ cotton, I wouldn’t of cared who come by and said, ‘I’ll take you to Chicago.’

Bonnie Raitt and KoKo

I used to listen to the radio, and when I was about 18 years old, B.B. King was a disc jockey and he had a radio program, 15 minutes a day, over in West Memphis, Arkansas and he would play the blues. I would hear different records and things by Muddy Waters, Bessie Smith, Memphis Minnie, Sonny Boy Williamson and all these people, you know, which I just loved.

Chuck Berry and KoKo

Blues is my life. It’s a true feeling that comes from the heart, not something that just comes out of my mouth. Blues is what I love, and blues is what I always do.

Edgar Winter and KoKo

photos courtesy of www.kokotaylor.com

One thought on “KoKo Taylor (Sept 28, 1928 – June 3, 2009)

Leave a Reply

