The Life of Brian

 

“When this you see remember me and bare me in your mind. Let all the world say what they may, speak of me as you find.”
Brian Jones (Feb 28, 1942 – July 3, 1969)

“Something to remember on your birthday..Forget the past, it can’t be changed..And, forget the present because I didn’t get you one.”

brianjones_stripedsuit

Brian Jones, Yoko Ono, Julian Lennon, John Lennon

Brian Jones and Bob Dylan

 

Brian Jones and Mick Jagger


Keith Richards, Mick Jagger, Charlie Watts, Brian Jones, and Bill Wyman

I am “going to have a cup of tea, like any good Englishman”

“When Brian was off-stage it did seem to me as if he had difficulty coping with the real world. But it’s something I myself had similar problems with later on. Brian also though seemed to have the additional problem of being slightly schizophrenic. But then who wouldn’t be in that band. Having said that, Brian was still easily the star of the Rolling Stones.”
Ray Davies, on Brian’s troubles

“Brian was very moody, which I like, and he was physically attractive as well – he looked kind of like a girl in a funny kind of way; sexually I like girls as well as men and Brian seemed to combine both sexes for me. At the same time, he was funny as well. He had a great sense of humour – how could I not love a man who could make me laugh? Also, Brian was very outspoken, blunt, said everything on his mind, outrageous things, and he had a wonderful curiosity – curious about new things, new places, wanted to know everything that was going on, wanted to meet new people, new ideas, learn the new dances.”
Anita Pallenberg, on her attraction to Brian

“It was a really terrible thing they did to Brian. They had a lot of other options than to sack him as cruelly as that. That took away whatever last reserves Brian had. It was Mick being the Godfather.”
John Dunbar, on the sacking of Brian

“At first Brian was the most interesting Stone, but he changed over the years as he disintegrated. He ended up the kind of guy that you dread when he would come on the phone because you knew it was trouble. He was really in a lot of pain. In the early days he was all right because he was young and confident. He was one of them guys that disintegrated in front of you.”
John Lennon, on Brian’s disintegration

“Brian should have been put in a straitjacket and treated. I used to know Brian quite well. The Stones have always been a group I really dug. Dug all the dodgy aspects of them as well, and Brian Jones has always been what I’ve regarded as one of the dodgy aspects. The way he fitted in and the way he didn’t was one of the strong dynamics of the group. When he stopped playing with them, I thought that dynamic was going to be missing, but it still seems to be there. Perhaps the fact that he’s dead has made that dynamic kind of permanent. A little bit of love might have sorted him out. I don’t think his death was necessarily a bad thing for Brian. I think he’ll do better next time. I believe in reincarnation.”
Pete Townshend, on his tribute song ‘A Normal Day For Brian’

above quotes source:
http://members.tripod.com/~redrooster_2/quotes.html

http://www.squidoo.com/the-rolling-stones-brian-jones

10 Things You Never Knew About… Brian Jones

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Rolling_Stones

Leave a Reply

