Music is a language, you see, a universal language.

I use music as a medium to talk to people.

It’s such a tragedy that man endures in killing his brother and his own kind, putting him in jail and insane asylums, letting him lay out in the street.

Not too many people in America know about me, but all of Europe knows about me.

Sun Ra was the first jazz musician to perform on electronic keyboards, the first to pursue full-scale collective improvisation in a big band setting, and his preoccupation with space travel as a compositional subject predated bands like Weather Report by about 15 years. All this from someone who refuses to even cite the earth as his home planet and prefers to have arrived from Saturn. As Sun Ra once explained it, “I never wanted to be a part of planet Earth, but I am compelled to be here, so anything I do for this planet is because the Master-Creator of the Universe is making me do it. I am of another dimension. I am on this planet because people need me”. TEXT FROM A 1989 PRESS KIT BY A&M RECORDS

www.elrarecords.com/

A 29 minute interview with Sun Ra
(Detroit TV, 1981)

Leave a Reply

