“I’d always loved strings. When I was in high school and saw strings playing on stage, an orchestra or a symphony, all those bows moving at the same time…wow.”

“I’d been hearing things in my head for a long time, but I’d been restricted, … Now I did what I felt. … When I had the opportunity to do my own thing, that’s when I thought about strings and different chords.”

“Rock ‘n’ roll began in Memphis, and the city continues to be a focal point of enormous musical creativity today.”
Isaac Hayes (August 20, 1942 – August 10, 2008)

Isaac Hayes 1991
photo by Marion Curtis

Leave a Reply

