“To create one’s own world takes courage.”

O'Keeffe_1918_alfred_stieglitz

“I have lived on a razor’s edge. So what if you fall off – I’d rather be doing something I really wanted to do. I’d walk it again.”

georgia_hat

“I’ve been absolutely terrified every moment of my life and I’ve never let it keep me from doing a single thing that I wanted to do.”

georgia_o

“I’ll paint it big and they will be surprised into taking the time to look at it – I will make even busy New Yorkers take time to see what I see of flowers. “

georgia_older

“I have already settled it for myself so flattery and criticism go down the same drain and I am quite free.”


gerogia_headscart

“I’m glad I want everything in the world – good and bad – bitter and sweet – I want it all.”


gerogia_sketchbook

“I found I could say things with color and shapes that I couldn’t say any other way–things I had no words for.”

okeefe_motocylce

“I decided to start anew, to strip away what I had been taught.”

flower1

“Nobody sees a flower – really – it is so small it takes time – we haven’t time – and to see takes time, like to have a friend takes time.”

“I hate flowers — I paint them because they’re cheaper than models and they don’t move.”
– Georgia O’Keeffe

a-sunflower-from-maggie

“I decided that if I could paint that flower in a huge scale, you could not ignore its beauty.”

“I know I cannot paint a flower. I cannot paint the sun on the desert on a bright summer morning, but maybe in terms of paint color I can convey to you my experience of the flower or the experience that makes the flower of significance to me at that particular time.”

georgia-o-keeffe-white-flower-on-red-earth

“If you take a flower in your hand and really look at it, it’s your world for a moment.”

“Where I was born and where and how I have lived is unimportant. It is what I have done with where I have been that should be of interest.”

georgia_stamp

“Whether you succeed or not is irrelevant, there is no such thing. Making your unknown known is the important thing.”

Image may contain: one or more people

Leave a Reply

