A drummer like Tony comes around only once in 30 years.
 Miles Davis

220px-Tony_Williams

"Drums are meant to be loud. It's like telling a piccolo player, 'don't play high,' or telling a trumpet player, 'don't be so brassy,' or telling a bass player, 'don't play low.' Volume, physicality, and aggressiveness are part of what drumming is about."
milesdavis_tonywilliams

Tony Williams began playing with Miles Davis at the age of 17.
He began playing professionally at the age of 13 with saxophonist Sam Rivers.
wikipedia
Tony_Williams2

"I study all the time,” Williams said. “It’s like being a doctor in a way. In music, you have to always keep learning, and I like learning. Right now, I am just trying to write as well as I can. I would like to be as good a composer as I think I am a drummer. I’d like to get it up to the same level as my playing. The people I like are mostly classical composers – Stravinski, Shostakovich, Bartok, Edward Algar, Aaron Copeland and a lot of nineteenth-century composers like Chopin and Grieg.”
www.drummagazine.com

Leave a Reply

