Image result for eddie vedder images

“I think music is the greatest art form that exists, and I think people listen to music for different reasons, and it serves different purposes. The best songs are the ones that make you feel something.”

“If you feel like you’ve got a piece of duct tape on your mouth, if you feel like you can’t speak, take it off, speak up, speak your mind, shout it out, let em hear, shout it out.”

“I had a long talk with Bruce Springsteen on a rooftop during the Vote for Change tour (in 2004). And it boiled down to this: That guy you used to be, he’s still in the car. He’ll always be in the car. Just don’t let him drive. He might be shouting out directions. But whatever you do, don’t let him get behind the wheel.”

“People listen to music for different reasons. Some people, it’s background music— but other people need it to survive. Other people need music to get things out and maybe that’s just where I’m coming from, you know, when things weren’t easy for me, growing up. You know, music, I felt, saved my life. Pete Townshend, wherever you are, Pete, you saved my life. You know, whether he knows it or not. I wouldn’t be here. And I had absolutely nothing else besides music. And so that’s still, you know, that’s in me, and so if we’re gonna play, if we’re gonna get up and play, or write a song, you know, write about something that means something. You know, why write about, you know, ‘Oh, pretty day’, or, ‘Pretty girl’ or ‘Pretty people’, there’s nothing… people have different reasons for listening and playing. I need to —for me-, it’s much more.. religious!”

“Though some may think there should be a separation between art/music and politics, it should be reinforced that art can be a form of nonviolent protest.”

Life moves fast. As much as you can learn from your history, you have to move forward.

You know, punk bands now sell with one record – their first or second record – sell 10 times the amount of records than the Ramones did throughout their career with 20-something records. That’s why I go over to Johnny Ramone’s house and do yard work three times a week, just to absolve some of the guilt.

Leave a Reply

