pablo_casals_withcello

Casals

casalskennedy

casals

“I am a very simple man. I am a man first, an artist second. My first obligation is to the welfare of my fellow man. I will endeavour to meet this obligation through music, since it transcends language, politics and national boundaries.” Pablo Casals

“Pablo Casals is a very great artist. What I admire is the firm stand he has taken not only against the oppressors of his countrymen, but also against those opportunists who are always ready to compromise with the Devil. He perceives clearly that the world is in greater peril from those who tolerate or encourage evil than from those who actually commit it.” – Albert Einstein

“He is a great musician in all he does: a cellist without equal, and extraordinary conductor and composer with something to say. I have been profoundly impressed by all I have heard of his work, but he is a musician of this stature because he is also a great man.” – Albert Schweitzer

www.pablocasals.com/

When Pablo Casals (then age 93) was asked why he continued to practice the cello, three hours a day,  he replied “I’m beginning to notice some improvement.”

One thought on “Pablo Casals (December 29, 1876 – October 22, 1973)

Leave a Reply

