“I don’t play the tuba.”

“That’s a big gift when people say to you that a song helped them or brought them to some place in their life where they needed to be.”

[on his mother explaining his racial heritage – a Russian Jewish father, and a Bahamian mother] “I remember her telling me, ‘I want you to know your heritage. You are no more one thing than another, but society will only see you as black’. I don’t even know if I understood what that really meant, but I think I somehow got it, and got it more a couple of years later – that people weren’t going to see both sides. As people used to say back in the day, and maybe still say today, one drop of black blood and you’re black. That’s it.”

“My mom and dad would take me all over. One night we’d be at the Apollo watching James Brown, and then I’d be at the Joffrey Ballet. It was that kind of scene.”

[on why he likes acting] “It’s not all about me. When I make music , it is all about me – I write it, I record it, I produce it. I’m involved in engineering and mixing. It’s a big me-fest. That’s fine, that’s how it works, but it’s nice to walk away from yourself and serve a director’s vision and a character – and it has nothing to do with you.”

Lenny-Kravitz_

lenny_goodmorning

lenny_kravitz_whatdidi_large

lenny_kravitz_trulyromance

Leave a Reply

