Barnett Newman
Sculpture is what you bump into when you back up to see a painting.

blackwhite

When painters feel the need to make a shift toward self-discovery, they turn to black and white for a time.

dionysius-1949Dionysius, 1949

achilles-1952Achilles, 1952

I know that it is impossible to talk about my work. And since it’s impossible for me or anybody else to talk about my work, I feel I might as well talk about it.

barnettnewman
A painter is a choreographer of space.
Barnett Newman

newman9


newman12

newman14

newman16

Barnett Newman was an American artist. He is seen as one of the major figures in abstract expressionism and one of the foremost of the color field painters.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Barnett_Newman

Leave a Reply

