alberto_giacometti_sculptres_2

“Basically, I no longer work for anything but the sensation I have while working.”

“The object of art is not to reproduce reality, but to create a reality of the same intensity.”

“My colleagues admonish me, ‘paint with colors!’ Isn’t gray a color, too? If I see everything in gray, if within that gray I see all the colors that impress me and that I would like to convey, why should I use another color?”

“Artistically I am still a child with a whole life ahead of me to discover and create. I want something, but I won’t know what it is until I succeed in doing it.”
Alberto Giacometti
Swiss sculptorpainterdraughtsman, and printmaker.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alberto_Giacometti

tallsculptrue_nice

398px-Photograph_of_Alberto_Giacometti_by_Cartier_BressonPhoto by by Henri Cartier-Bresson

 

giacParis, late 1950s

Woman of Venice IV

 

banknote

banknote_withsculpture

giac_publicart_chgo

giac_withsculps

giac1961paris

giac_studio

The Chariot

Photo: Arnold Newman, Paris, France, 1954

Alberto Giacometti with his wife Annette
Henri Cartier-Bresson, Paris, 1961

femmedevenusV

“It isn’t necessary to make things large to make them monumental; a head by Giacometti one inch high would be able to vitalize this whole space.”
Hans Hofmann As quoted in Can Painting be Taught by Dorothy Seckler, Art News No. 50 (March 1951), p. 64
wikiquotes

Leave a Reply

