"I think people have had too much to think and ought to flex their magic muscles. It takes awhile to get oriented to what I do, but people seem to be able to hear it if they give it a chance. I'd never just want to do what everybody else did. I'd be contributing to the sameness of everything."
  -captain-beefheart-1976 
 "The stars are matter, We're matter, But it doesn't matter."

"You can tell by the kindness of a dog how a human should be."

"I think nutrition is very important. If you eat bad, you feel bad. If you feel bad, you do bad things. Most of modern rock and roll is a product of guilt. People cop licks off of dead people, like stealing pennies off a dead man's eyes.

"It makes me itch to think of myself as Captain Beefheart. I don't even have a boat."

Captain-Beefheart_240

"I would just as soon play the music on the new album because when I see all those people out there taking acid to get into *my* music, then I don't want to play that kind of music. I don't want to make people think they've got to use some sort of elevation to get into what I do. If I did that, what kind of artist would I be? Just another phoney asshole."

"When I see a dolphin, I know it's just as smart as I am. Sometimes I'd rather be thought of as a dolphin than as a human being. I live up at Eureka, among the big trees, and I tell you, those things are really saying something. You gotta work to hear what they're saying. They're great. But the eucalyptus is so far my favorite. They brought them over from Australia for lumber, but when they grew here they curved, and there was no way they could be used for lumber. I think maybe they threw a curve on the lumber companies. And I think that's heavy."

"Recently, like on the last album, I've been getting inspiration from women, the way they move, their gestures. I think it's important that there be some men who appreciate women for what they are: women; not as some kind of extension of man. There's been a big ecological imbalance for years, what with women taking a back seat to men for so long. Their influence on life has been mutated, and, because of it, the men have been getting into wars and screwing things up. My inspiration comes from appreciating women for what they are."

"Earth...god's golf ball."

"I'm not really here, I just stick around for my friends."
  Don Van Vliet aka Captain Beefheart passed Dec. 17, 2010 at the age of 69

zappacaptainbeefheart
Captain Beefheart and Frank Zappa

captain_obama

captainbeefheat6

captainbeefheat8

At age 29, Captain Beefheart, also known as Don Van Vliet, lives in seclusion in a small house in the San Fernando Valley of Los Angeles.

In the early Sixties Don Van Vliet moved to Cucamonga to be with Frank Zappa who was composing music and producing motion pictures. It was at about this time that Van Vliet and Zappa hatched up the name Captain Beefheart, “But don’t ask me why or how,” Beefheart comments today. The two made plans to form a rock and roll band called the Soots and to make a movie to be named *Captain Beefheart Meets The Grunt People* but nothing ever came of either project. In time Zappa left for Los Angeles and formed the Mothers. Beefheart returned to Lancaster and gathered together a group of “desert musicians.” In 1964 the Magic Band was ready to begin playing teen age dances in its home town.

http://www.tedalvy.com/cbq.htm

Leave a Reply

