I have made a great discovery. I no longer believe in anything.

With age, art and life become one.

Photo by Man Ray, 1922

braque-musical-instruments-1908Musical Instruments, 1908

 

georges-braque-still-life-le-jour-1929 Still Life Le Jour, 1929

 

Braque With Studio 4

Art is meant to disturb, science reassures.

Art is polymorphic. A picture appears to each onlooker under a different guise.

In those years Picasso and I said things to each other that nobody will ever say again, that nobody could say any more… It was rather like a pair of climbers roped together.

You put a blob of yellow here, and another at the further edge of the canvas: straight away a rapport is established between them. Colour acts in the way that music does…

Critics should help people see for themselves; they should never try to define things, or impose their own explanations, though I admit that if… a critic’s explanations serve to increase the general obscurity, that’s all to the good.

If I have called Cubism a new order, it is without any revolutionary ideas or any reactionary ideas… One cannot escape from one’s own epoch, however revolutionary one may be.

The only valid thing in art is that which cannot be explained… if there is no mystery than there is no “poetry”, the quality I value above all else in art.

In a painting, what counts is the unexpected.

Painting is a nail to which I fasten my ideas.

I do not think my painting has ever been revolutionary. It was not directed against any kind of painting. I have never wanted to prove that I was right and someone else wrong…


George Braque (13 May 1882 – 31 August 1963)

Leave a Reply

