“Art is two things: a search for a road and a search for freedom.”

Related image

aliceneel

alice_neel_portrait_by_lynn_gilbert_1976

Related image

ClearClearClearself-portrait

photo by Robert Mapplethorpe

“Whether I’m painting or not, I have an overweening interest in humanity. Even if I’m not working, I’m still analyzing people.”

“Lucky for me, as old as I am, I can still change.”

“If you’re sufficiently tenacious and interested, you can accomplish what you want to accomplish in this world. You should keep on painting no matter how difficult it is, because this is all part of experience, and the more experience you have, the better it is… unless it kills you, and then you know you have gone too far.”

“The place where I had freedom most was when I painted. I was completely and utterly myself.”

“I don’t paint like a woman is supposed to paint. Thank God, art doesn’t bother about things like that. When women finally get liberated, they’ll do the same that men do – dog eat dog – that’s what our culture is…”

  “The minute I sat in front of a canvas I was happy. Because it was a world, and I could do what I liked in it. Painting was more than a profession, it was also an obsession. I had to paint. It was a therapy.”

“Nobody knows what makes good art. As an artist, when it happens, you’re grateful, and then you get on with it.”

Alice Neel

Leave a Reply

