Image result for Ed Ruscha
Ed Ruscha- Venice California Studio- 2003

“There’s room for saying things in bright shiny colors.”

“Good art should elicit a response of ‘Huh? Wow!’ as opposed to ‘Wow! Huh?'”

“I was raised with the Bible Belt mentality, and by coming to California, I came out of this dark place and unlearned a lot of things I’d been taught.”

“I knew I wanted to be some kind of artist from about 12. I met a neighbor who drew cartoons, and I had an idea I wanted to be a cartoonist – or something that involved Indian ink, at any rate.”

“I’d read about Los Angeles and this fact stuck in my mind: that the city gained 1,000 new people every day. In 1956! A thousand people every day! I felt: ‘I want to be part of that.”

“I’m interested in glorifying something that we in the world would say doesn’t deserve being glorified. Something that’s forgotten, focused on as though it were some sort of sacred object.”

Image result for Ed Ruscha
The artist Ed Ruscha at the Gagosian Gallery in Chelsea: “I love books, the physical objects of them.”

Image result for Ed RuschaEd Ruscha in his studio at 1024 3/4 N. Western Avenue in Hollywood, California, 1970. Image courtesy of Billy Al Bengston.
Photo © Larry Bell

Image result for Ed Ruscha
Ed Ruscha, “A Particular Kind of Heaven”, 1983. Oil on canvas

Leave a Reply

