Ai Weiwei, born May 18, 1957

“Only with the Internet can a peasant I have never met hear my voice and I can learn what’s on his mind. A fairy tale has come true.”

The Divine Comedy - Elevator

artist, curator, architectural designer, cultural and social commentator and activist

Image result for ai weiwei cube light

Cube Light (2008)

 

#aiflowers
#aiflowers is a project by Ai Weiwei inviting everyone to create a flower in memory of the child victims of the devastating Sichuan earthquake on May 12, 2008.

 

Image result for ai weiwei images

Ai Weiwei in Lego Room (2015)

 

“The Chinese artist and provocateur Ai Weiwei with his ‘Forever’ installation in London.”
Credit: Facundo Arrizabalaga/European Pressphoto Agency

 

“There is no refugee crisis, there is a human crisis.”
Ai Weiwei

Zodiac Heads, Princeton University, Princeton, NJ
Coming to Denver: Oct 18, 2017 – Oct 17, 2018

www.zodiacheads.com/world_tour_bronze.html

“I’ve never planned any part of my career– except being an artist. And I was pushed into that corner because I thought being an artist was the only way to have a little freedom.” “I’m not sure I’m good at art, but I find an escape in it.” (2008)

“Living in a system under the Communist ideology, an artist cannot avoid fighting for freedom of expression. You always have to be aware that art is not only a self-expression but a demonstration of human rights and dignity. To express yourself freely, a right as personal as it is, has always been difficult, given the political situation.” (2008) “Your own acts tell the world who you are and what kind of society you think it should be.” (2010) “I also have to speak out for people around me who are afraid, who think it is not worth it or who have totally given up hope. So I want to set an example: you can do it and this is okay, to speak out.” (2010)

“I often ask myself if I am afraid of being detained again. I love freedom as much as anybody else, maybe more than most. But it is a tragedy to live your life in fear. It is worse than actually losing your freedom.” (2012)

“We should leave behind discrimination, because it is narrow-minded and ignorant, denies contact and warmth, and corrodes mankind’s belief that we can better ourselves. The only way to avoid misunderstanding, war, and bloodshed is to defend freedom of expression and to communicate with sincerity, concern, and good intentions.” “Why I’ll Stay Away from the Opening Ceremony of the Olympics.” Guardian, August 7, 2008. above quotes courtesy of wikiquotes

