“Being the Queen is not all about singing, and being a diva is not all about singing. It has much to do with your service to people. And your social contributions to your community and your civic contributions as well.”

I always felt rock and roll was very, very wholesome music.

Being a singer is a natural gift. It means I’m using to the highest degree possible the gift that God gave me to use. I’m happy with that.

aretha_queen

I’m the lady next door when I’m not on stage.

aretha_tumblSinger/songwriter/musician Aretha Franklin poses with choreographer Charles ‘Cholly Atkins’ (1961) [Photograph Credit Frank Driggs].

aretha_7

It’s hard. When you love food, and when you’ve done a high energy concert, you know, a carrot is not gonna work.

aretha franklin photo

Aretha and producer Jerry Wexler

aretha_ray_jazzrelectionsAretha and Ray
courtesy of Jazz Reflections

The brother that gets me is going to get one hell of a fabulous woman.

aretha-2005addtoblog

Aretha Franklin, Receiving the Presidential Medal of Freedom from George W. Bush, 2005

arethaaddtoblog

aretha_iloveyoubestest

Leave a comment