“I’m a free spirit. I believe I’m here on earth to admire and enjoy it; that’s my religion.”

alice_walker

alice_art

alice_childcrying

alice_deargod

alice_insistonlove

alice_lookclosely

alice_lovesmusic

alice_frugal2

alice_time

alice_whenever

“…have you ever found God in church? I never did. I just found a bunch of folks hoping for him to show. Any God I ever felt in church I brought in with me. And I think all the other folks did too. They come to church to share God, not find God.”
―  The Color Purple

“In nature, nothing is perfect. Trees can be contorted, bent in weird ways and they’re still beautiful.”

“The more I wonder, the more I love.”

“When life descends into the pit
I must become my own candle
Willingly burning my self
To light up the darkness around me.”

“Life is better than death, I believe, if only because it is less boring, and because it has fresh peaches in it.”
― Home Girls: A Black Feminist Anthology

“we are the ones we have been waiting for”

You can never really go back to the same waters. Not only are you no longer the same, but neither are the waters you left. The current has changed. The elements of nature have affected the stream. When you return, although it appears the same, it really is a different river and you are a different person. Therefore, you cannot cross the same river twice.
Alice Walker, “The Same River Twice”

photo by Doris Denby

Doris Derby (born 1939) is an American activistdocumentary photographer, and retired director of Georgia State University‘s Office of African American Student Services and Programs and adjunct associate professor of anthropology. She was active in the Mississippi civil rights movement, and her work discusses the themes of race and African American identity. She was a working member of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), as well as co-founder of the Free Southern Theater, and the founding director of the Office of African-American Student Services and Programs. Her photography has been exhibited internationally.

Ms. Derby has exhibited her photographs both locally and nationally. Her photographs have been shown at the Smithsonian Institution, the Field Museum of Natural History in Chicago, Illinois, the Bronx Museum of the Arts in New York,[5] and the Skirball Cultural Center in Los Angeles.

Leave a comment